Youth Citizenship Winners received by President Michael D Higgins

foroigeadmin May 31, 2017

The winners of the Aldi Foróige Youth Citizenship Awards received a private audience with President Michael D Higgins in Áras an Uachtaráin yesterday.

Ballaghaderreen Foróige club won the top prize at the Awards last month for the leadership, compassion and community spirit of their project welcoming young Syrian refugees to their town.

The group created welcome folders translated into Arabic and hosted welcome nights for the refugees where they played games, got to know each other and gave welcome packs of handmade and traditional Irish products.

The delegation included Seán Campbell, CEO, Foróige; Sandra McIntyre, Chairperson of the National Council of Foróige; Padraig Barry - Communications Director, Aldi Ireland; Anne McGreal; Theresa Geever; Shaima Manaa (12); President Michael D Higgins; Issra Boshi (13); Diarmaid Geever (16); Gemma Halloworth (15); Jessica Fahy (15); Sarah Fahy & Finbar McCarthy - Group Buying Director, Aldi Ireland.

Posted in